Preservation Awards

Biennial Preservation Awards

The Historical Society presents three awards for building preservation on a biennial basis in even numbered years. The awards, which were first granted in 1996, recognize owners for the thoughtful restoration or preservation of a structure in the Village (residential or commercial). Judges use criteria that have been established by the US Department of the Interior and are recommended by the Illinois Historic Preservation Agency. Only the building’s exterior is considered in determining the awards.

The three categories are: Preservation/Exterior Rehabilitation, Compatible Addition, and Good Neighbor. For the Preservation/Exterior Rehabilitation and Compatible Addition Awards the building must be at least 50 years old. The Good Neighbor Award is for a structure, either residential or commercial, that fits the scale and historic style of Western Springs and the building may be of any age.

The Historical Society appreciates the efforts by all homeowners to maintain their homes. A resident’s commitment to preserving their home or adding to it in a period appropriate manner contributes to the charm and historic character of our village.

Many of the homes that have received awards over the years have been nominated by proud owners; however, anyone may nominate a building for an award. Look to this space in early 2018 for information on how to nominate a building for an award.


Award Categories:

Preservation/Exterior Rehabilitation:  This includes the maintenance, protection, repair and replacement of the structure so that it retains its original exterior historic character OR returning a significant part of the structure to the original design and condition by repairing or replacing the original material and architectural detail and by painting with historically appropriate colors.

Compatible Addition: The design of the addition recognizes and respects existing architectural and environmental characteristics of the property. These include size, shape and scale of the addition and the use of compatible materials, colors and textures.

The Good Neighbor Award recognizes that preservation is not limited to older homes and is given to new construction. Houses receiving this award call attention to architectural styles and represent examples of replications in design and enhance the character of the neighborhood.


2016 Preservation Award Winners

Three homes were chosen to receive the 2016 Preservation Awards. Click here to read our press release.

2014 Preservation Award Winners

Three homes were chosen to receive the 2014 Preservation Awards. Click here to read our press release.